The curriculum framework for all Scottish educational establishments 3 -18, called Curriculum for Excellence, will offer better educational outcomes for all youngpeople and will provide more choices and more chances for those young people whoneed them.
The aims of Curriculum for Excellence are that every child and young person should:

• Know they are valued and will be supported to become a successful learner, an effective contributor, a confident individual and a responsible citizen;
• Experience a traditionally broad Scottish curriculum that develops skills for learning, skills for life and skills for work, with a sustained focus on literacy and numeracy that encourages an active, healthy and environmentally sustainable lifestyle and builds an appreciation of Scotland and its place in the world.

The experiences and outcomes under Curriculum for Excellence are written at five levels, with progression to qualifications described under the senior phase.

  • Early Level - the pre school years and P1or later for some
  • First level - to the end of P4, but earlier for some
  • Second level – to the end of P7, but earlier for some
  • Third and Fourth – S1 to S3, but earlier for some
  • Senior phase - S4-S6 and college or other means of study.

All pupils should experience a balanced curriculum in their seven years in primary school.
The curriculum should also offer challenge and enjoyment, breadth, progression, depth, personalisation and choice, coherence and relevance.

© 2008-2019 Education Services, Inverclyde Council